Trade Finance Association of Bankers - Cricket Sixes

The inaugural 'TFAB Cricket Sixes' organized by the Trade Finance Association of Bankers played at Shalika grounds last Saturday was a resounding success. Twenty-two teams from the members of the staff attached to the Trade Finance Divisions of the commercial banks enthusiastically participated in the event. Keen competition was witnessed right throughout the tournament with Commercial Bank "A", HSBC Bank, Hatton National Bank 'A' and NDB Bank being in the spotlight entering the semi-finals through hard fought wins in the league round matches and the quarter-finals. The much-fancied Commercial Bank 'A' team triumphed over the HSBC Bank in the final to become the winners of the Trade Finance Association of Bankers Challenge Trophy for the year 2009, the inaugural year. Sachintha Balasuriya of HSBC Bank won the award for the Best Batsmen whilst Shane Godwin of HSBC Bank won the Best Bowler's award. Nilan Ariyawansa was named the Man of the Tournament for his contribution both with the bat & the ball scoring an aggregate of 113 runs WITH 12 Sixes and taking a total of 02 wickets for 35 runs in the tournament. Sportsmanship was displayed to its highest level when State Bank of India fielded an all women team competing with the men which added much colour to this spectacular event. Mr. Aravinda Perera, Executive Director / Chief Operating Officer, Sampath Bank graced the occasion as the Chief Guest and Mr. A. Kathiravelupillai, Senior Banking and Financial Consultant and member of the Advisory Committee was the Guest of Honour, and they distributed the awards. Mr. Parama Dharmawardene, President of the Trade Finance Association of Bankers speaking at the Award Ceremony commended the sportsmanship exhibited by the bankers participating in the event and assured the members that this event will become a part of the annual calendar of the Association in the future.

-: :-