TFAB Cricket Sixes

The annual ‘TFAB Cricket Sixes’ organized for the second successive year by the Trade Finance Association of Bankers played at Shalika grounds on Saturday 14th august 2010, was a resounding success. Twenty four teams from the members of the staff attached to the Trade Finance Divisions of the commercial banks enthusiastically participated in the event. Intense competition was witnessed right throughout the tournament with Hatton National Bank ‘B’, HSBC Bank, Citi Bank and Union Bank being in the spotlight entering the semi-finals through hard fought wins in the league round matches and the quarter-finals. The formidable Hatton National Bank ‘B’ team triumphed over the HSBC Bank in the final to become the worthy winners of the coveted Trade Finance Association of Bankers Challenge Trophy for the year 2010. Brilliant individual performances included Sachintha Balasuriya of HSBC Bank “A” team winning the award for the Best Batsmen whilst Dhanushka Edussuriya of Citi Bank won the Best Bowler’s award. Duncan Arnolda of HNB “B” team was adjudged the Player of the Tournament for his all-round performance both with the bat & the ball scoring an aggregate of 55 runs with 6 Sixes and taking a total of 3 wickets for 39 runs, & taking 2 cathes in the tournament. This year too, State Bank of India fielded an all women team adding glamour to the event. Mr. Ajitha Pasqual, Director / General Manager/CEO, Seylan Bank Limited a sporting enthusiast himself graced the occasion as the Chief Guest and distributed the prizes to the winners. Mr. M.K. Nandasiri, President of the Trade Finance Association of Bankers speaking at the Opening Ceremon commended the banks in sponsoring the event by nominating teams and mentioned the importance of fellowship among bankers involved in the Trade Finance to foster relationship.

-: :-